Series

Reply 1988 (2015-2016)

Eungdapara 1988

Director: Shin Won-ho
Writer: Lee Woo-jung
Stars: Lee Hye-ri, Park Bo-gum, Go Kyung-pyo, Ryu Jun-yeol, Lee Dong-hwi

Set in the year 1988, the drama revolves around five friends and their families living in the same neighborhood of Ssangmun-dong, Dobong District, Northern Seoul.

★★★✮☆

I started watching this earlier this year, but ended up stopping after 1 and a half episode because the truth is it bored me. I wanted to see it because the descriptions of the drama I read from the internet piqued my interest. It says there the drama shows the beginning of K-pop, thus I was sold. I was also curious why it gained a high rating during its airing, and I got that answer from the first episode alone. The drama probably brought a great deal of nostalgia among its viewers for its pop culture and its juxtaposition on real events. I swear I have learned so much about Korean culture and their ways after seeing this, much more than the over 10 romantic comedies I’ve seen in the past months.

Centralling on five friends living in the same neighborhood and growing knowing everything about each other, it will probably take you back to your own childhood as well, and the struggles of going to school, and growing up altogether.

Great plot, well-curated characters, superb acting, just the right mixture of drama and comedy, and a lot of life lessons.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

