Series

The Legend of the Blue Sea (2016-2017)

legend-of-the-blue-sea

Pooreun Badaui Junsul (original title)

Directors: Jin Hyuk, Park Seon-Ho
Writer: Park Ji-eun
Stars: Lee Min-ho, Jun Ji-hyun

Love story between a mermaid and a man which starts in the Joseon era where they first met, and continued to the modern time when they were both reincarnated.

★★★☆☆

This is the one that it started it all–my addiction to Korean drama. It was November last year and I was up writing a term paper. It was past midnight and I thought I am gonna have a break by watching this series. I’ve been seeing posts about this on my Facebook so I thought I’d check it out. It stars Lee Min Ho so that’s enough reason for me. I enjoyed the first episode enough to give myself another 1 hour break so I could see the next episode. Then I started talking about it to my friends, and urging them to see it as well. And then fast forward to today, yeah, we are now one of those who’d binge-watch Korean dramas, and learned who’s who among the Hallyu stars.

It was really off to a good start. There were a lot of funny scenes–Jun Ji-hyun really knows comedy. However, it somehow becomes dragging. The plot is more fitting for a shorter running time. They stretched the story too much it became uninteresting. But because I invested a lot of time and emotions, I had to finish it.

Positive: cinematography, excellent acting (Lee Min Ho galing!).

lee-min-ho-alcohol

1 thought on “The Legend of the Blue Sea (2016-2017)”

Leave a Reply

