Films

Les Misérables (2012)

lesmiserables2012

Director: Tom Hooper
Stars: Hugh Jackman, Russell Crowe, Anne Hathaway, Amanda Seyfried, Eddie Redmayne

In 19th-century France, Jean Valjean, who for decades has been hunted by the ruthless policeman Javert after he breaks parole, agrees to care for factory worker Fantine’s daughter, Cosette. The fateful decision changes their lives forever.

I haven’t read the book, that’s why I had to see the 90s film first because I don’t know how the plot goes. I only know some of the songs in the musical, popularized by Lea Salonga. I didn’t bother to look up the stage play in Youtube, as well. Having said that, I was expecting too much about the film, because everyone is talking about it, about how wonderful the film is. It is hyped. That’s why when I saw the real deal, I was like, meh, that’s it? When the film’s over, my friend asked me if I cried. I said, actually I was waiting for me to burst into tears, too. But it didn’t happen. I like the film. The actors were good (Hugh Jackman was great!). I don’t know what was lacking, or maybe there’s nothing really lacking, maybe I was just expecting too much.

I wanna see it on stage, maybe I’ll love it more.

★★★✮☆

Leave a Reply

