Films

Easy Virtue (2008)

Because I am so into Ben Barnes this past few weeks, last night I watched the two films he made in between filming the two Narnia books. Ben Barnes is Narnia’s former Prince and now King Caspian. I hope he’d still appear on the fourth installation of the series.

Easy Virtue and Dorian Gray are both set in the old England. The kind of setting I love watching. I’ve always love Victorian Era in England. I think it’s classy and glamorous. That’s one thing I’d definitely see if if I could travel back. I noticed I’ve been stuffing myself with movies set in the old times lately. Not bad. Anyway, I’ll just share my shallow opinions on these films. I’ll make them extra short, may mai-blog lang. :p

★★★✮☆

Director: Stephan Elliott
Stars: Jessica Biel, Ben Barnes, Kristin Scott Thomas

Easy Virtue is a comedy based on Noel Coward’s play. It stars Jessica Biel, Colin Firth, Kristin Thomas Scott and Ben Barnes. Basically, the plot revolves around a young Englishman, John Whittaker (Barnes), who marries a glamorous American race-car driver, Larita (Biel). When they return to England to meet his parents, John’s mother, Veronica (Scott-Thomas) takes a strong dislike to their daughter-in-law, while his father, Jim (Firth), finds a kindred spirit. As they stayed in the Whittaker’s rural mansion, family tensions escalates alongside fateful events.

First, I like the movie because it’s a comedy. It’s not that hilarious comedic movie but the wits of the plot is enough to make you smile, grin and even laugh at some point.

I admire Jessica Biel’s character. Larita embodies confidence and strength. She is a woman ahead of her time. She refuses to change into someone she’s not just fit for other’s tastes. I also love how Sarah, John’s neighbor and best friend is shown as a kind and understanding by accepting warmly accepting his friend’s wife, unlike the stereotype where she could’ve played a villain in  a love triangle.

I love how the author made powerful contrasts with the characters. Larita is one who always keeps her head high and you wouldn’t expect that a mother who preaches about morality could actually do everything to demoralize her daughter-in-law slash to destroy her marriage with her son. Jim and John, on the other hand, clearly show the difference between a man and a boy.

I kinda like the ending. It’s very real when Larita decides to leave and give back John to Sarah. It’s not your typical love story that ends in “happy ever after.”

Oh, there were times when John sings a line or two of a song to his wife and I think it’s the sweetest. My favorite scene is actually that moment when they are driving to the Whittaker’s home and John sings this to Larita. And of course, the tango! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Easy Virtue (2008)”

Leave a Reply

