Films

A Walk in the Clouds (1995)

★★★☆☆

Director: Alfonso Arau
Stars: Keanu Reeves, Aitana Sánchez-Gijón, Anthony Quinn

After returning from the war, Paul and a young woman meet on a bus as she’s headed home from college to help with the grape harvest and face her Old World domineering dad. The woman has not married but is pregnant and she thinks her father is going to kill her. Paul proposes to pose as her husband to help her face her father. When their passion for each other is finally ignited and explodes, they realize they must overcome all odds to be together.

This was for our movietime a while ago. A Walk in the Clouds is a 90s drama by Alfonso Arau and stars Keanu Reeves and Aitana Sánchez-Gijón. It is somehow predictable like other love stories but it’s lovely. I liked how it showed Mexican culture. I will give it three (out of five) stars for being wholesome and for the lovely setting. 😀

Although I was bored because of the poor audio at muntik ko na talagang tinulugan, I managed to stay awake because of some remarkable scenes.

Like a firefly

When I saw them flapping their wings, I thought their really gonna fly. :p I think this part where they were warming up the produce is lovely. The effect with the light from the torch is wow! 🙂

Thanks to this movie I learned how wine is made.

You would be drinking that after many years.

Gross yes but what I wouldn’t do to experience that! While watching, someone commented, “Kaya pala nakakalasing ang alak!” Lulzzz Sabi ko naman, ang saya nila, naliligo sa katas ng ubas!

Now, if we’re gonna make a Pinoy version of this film.

Landian habang tinatapakan ang ubas.

Imagine Aljur Abrenica and Kris Bernal doing the ritual/process, not with grapes but with, we’re gonna go local so, bagoong. Because I heard some fish sauce producers do the same process with making bagoong.

Disclaimer: Hindi ko sinisiraan ang industriya ng bagoong. It just happened na I have a cousin who had that kind of job. Pero kasi ang nakikita ko talaga ay yung binuburo nang matagal sa banga yung isda at asin para maging bagoong, hindi tinatapakan. :p

Leave a comment